top of page

 Lauren in Wonderland 

Just Wandering Through as Many Wonderlands as I Can

Search
  • ljan

Farewell London

Our last full day in London was a Friday and we were granted almost the entire day to do whatever we wanted to. Bianca and I had a rather short list of things that we wanted to see and do and then we decided we wanted to leave the rest of our day up to London. Throughout the week we had accumulated the short list but we weren't married to doing anything. Rather, we were open to whatever the day had in store for us.


I could easily write an entire book about all the things that I saw, heard, smelled, felt and tasted throughout our day in the city, but for now I want to focus on dinner. I know, that seems like a strange thing to focus on and write a whole blog about, but our farewell dinner was really a whole different experience.


Up to this point, we were blessed with eating incredible food from multiple incredible restaurants around and throughout the city. I had been more than satisfied with everything that I had tasted but no food will ever compare to the last meal we had at Balans Soho Society in Soho, London.



I went into this meal with little-to-no expectations about the food but from the first time our enthusiastic waiter brought out those mountainous pieces of bread, I knew that this meal was going to be special. When I say mountainous, I mean gigantic! Not only was it massive, but it was perfectly crispy on the outside and lightly fluffy on the inside. There wasn't a doubt in my mind that this bread was made with pure love.


That bread was just the beginning of what ended up being the best meal I had ever had and I will ever have. Bianca got a hummus platter as a starter, while I got scallions. Just typing about it now is making my stomach do cartwheels. The hummus was abnormally light with perfectly soft pita bread. The scallions were simply the best flavored and textured scallions that I had ever had.



And then the entrees. Don't even get me started on the entrees.


I had ordered the steak with fries, while Bianca had ordered the chicken curry. I know those both sound like extremely basic orders but holy moly they were out of this world. I wish I was more culinarily sophisticated so that I could describe the symphony of flavors dancing through my mouth but all I can say is that I truly do still have dreams about both foods.


I have never tasted such incredible food before in my life and I know for a fact I never will. If and when I ever go back to London, I will absolutely spend all of my money on just those meals.





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Field Trip to the Baltimore Museum of Art

Field trip? Yes! Field trip on a Saturday? I don’t know about that! We agreed as a class that we all wanted to visit the Baltimore Museum of Art and I was a huge fan of the idea but unfortunately, bec

Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe

CONTACT

Thanks for submitting!

Work from Home
Home: Contact
bottom of page